Skip to main content
University of Gothenburg


BioEnv is one of seven departments at the Faculty of Science. Everyday work is lead by the the prefect, supported by the proprefect, four vice prefects, head of administration and several permanent councils and working groups.

Diagram of the organisation


The head of department, deputy head of department, vice prefects and head of administration constitute the management group of the department. The group meets every second week.

Henrik Aronsson

Head of department
Professor in plant physiology

Elisabeth (Lisa) Jönsson Bergman

Deputy head of department
Docent in zoophysiology

Mats Andersson

Vice prefect of department with responsibility for undergraduate studies/education
Docent in plant cell- and molecular biology

Karin Hårding

Vice prefect of department with responsibility for research
Docent in marine ecology

Kristina "Snuttan" Sundell

Vice prefect of department with responsibility for cooperation
Professor in zoophysiology

Angela Wulff

Vice prefect
Professor in marine ecology, marine botany

Anna Berggren

Head of administration

The head of administration supports the head and board of department.

Departmental boards and councils

The board of department is advisory to the head, and a forum for dialogues and discussions about the actions of the department. In addition, there are several working/advisory groups e.g., Educational council (UR), Advisory board of research (BaBOR), Cooperation and outreach group and Examiner group.

Here we present members of the boards and councils as well as people with other departmental responsibilities


Henrik Aronsson, prefekt


Catharina Olsson, representative for teachers/scientists

Erik Sandblom, representative for teachers/scientists

Urban Olsson, representative for teachers/scientists

Åslög Dahl, representative for teachers/scientists

Henrik Nilsson, representative for teachers/scientists

Ingela Lyck, representative for administrators

Linda Svanberg, representative for technicians


PhD Students/First cycle students

Christina Jönander, PhD-student (replacement for Frida Book)

Michaela Maurin and Lovisa Leman, first cycle education

Union representatives has the right to attend and speak.


Mats Andersson
Vice prefect

Director of studies Biology

Donald Blomqvist
Chair Board of Biology and Molecular biology programs

Director of studies Pharmacy and coordinator for degree project courses

Catharina Olsson
Board of dispensing pharmacists

Director of studies Environmental sciences

Göran Wallin
Chair Board of Environmental sciences

Director of studies Education

Angela Wulff
Board of Educational studies


Karin Hårding, vice prefect

Additional members

Evolutionary ecology & conservation biology
Karin Hårding
Mats Olsson

Physiology & cell biology
Bethanie Carney Almroth
Björn Thrandur Björnsson

Environmental sciences
Håkan Pleijel
Ingela Dahllöf
Johan Uddling

Systematics & biodiversity
Henrik Nilsson
Bengt Oxelman

For PhD- students
Tobias Andermann

This group is advisory to the management when it comes to strategic planning of cooperation and outreach activities. The group includes six persons and meet when needed but at least twice per semester.


Kristina "Snuttan" Sundell, vice prefect

Additional members

Susan Gotensparre

Urban Olsson

Margareta Wallin Petersson

Catharina Olsson

Sven Toresson


Mats Olsson, director of studies for doctoral studies

Additional examiners for doctoral studies

Staffan Andersson

Michael Axelsson

Thomas Backhaus

Thrandur Björnson

Malin Celander

Adrian Clarke

Bengt Gunnarsson

Charlotta Kvarnemo

Mari Källersjö

Bengt Oxelman

Håkan Pleijel

Kristina Sundell

Cornelia Spetea Wiklund

Christina Jönander
Maria Wittemann
Oskar Gran
Niklas Warwas
Anton Sandblom

Work environment

See internal pages Staff portal

Environmental coordinators

See internal pages Staff portal


Roger Eriksson, chair
Michael Axelsson


Michael Axelsson