Skip to main content
Breadcrumb

Reconciliatory Heritage – Reconstructing Heritage in a Time of Violent Fragmentations

Research project
Pågående forskning
Project size
12 000 000
Project period
2016 - 2021
Project owner
Department of Sociology and Work Science

Short description

The last decades have witnessed a surge of ethno-national, political and religious conflicts. Heritage is increasingly involved in such conflicts as targets and arenas for struggles over identities, authority and superiority. The aim of thisproject is 1) to explore how claims and contestations in such conflicts are deeply entangled in questions that pertain to aheritage and security nexus; and 2) to identify conditions and experiences that indicate a reconciliatory role for heritage.The purpose is a) to investigate the possibilities of further development of such a reconciliatory role for heritage in ourviolently fragmented world, and b) to contribute a state of the art assessment and guidelines for how such areconciliatory role can be further developed.

The project strategically engages researchers from complementary disciplines.

Researchers

Michael Landzelius, project leader, Department of Sociology and Work Science, michael.landzelius@gu.se

Feras Hammami, Dep. of Conservation, feras.hammami@conservation.gu.se

Ola Sigurdson, Department of Literature, History of Ideas, and Religion, ola.sigurdson@lir.gu.se
Klas Grinell, Department of Literature, History of Ideas, and Religion, klas.grinell@lir.gu.se

Mona Lilja, Department of Global Studies, mona.lilja@gu.se

Mikael Baaz, Department of Law, mikael.baaz@law.gu.se

Evren Uzer von Busch, HDK Valand, evren.uzer@hdk.gu.se