Alesia Tietze
Photo: Johan Wingborg

Alesia Tietze Group

Research group
Active research
Project period
2018 - ongoing
Project owner
University of Gothenburg

Short description

Dr. Alesia A. Tietze, Associate Professor in medicinal chemistry.

About Alesia Tietze Group

Dr. Alesia A. Tietze, Associate Professor in medicinal chemistry with focus on total synthesis of bioactive peptides, i.e. cysteine-rich peptides, which are derived from biologically active natural sources (i.e. cone snails, spiders, snakes), their targets (membrane proteins) and their structural analogues as well as engineering of bioispired materiales based on functional peptides/proteins and artificial carriers (i.e. nanopores, polymers).

  • We perform synthesis of bioactive peptides, derived from the venom of gastropods and study their mode of action with their targets, i.e. membrane proteins or/and transmembrane receptors, in order to develop more potent structures.
  • We develop new strategies for the chemical synthesis of membrane proteins (ion channels), since their synthesis is challenging due to their highly hydrophobic properties. We develop methods to improve their solubility and therefore facilitate the availability of this class of proteins/peptides.
  • We develop bioinspired materials and sensoric hybrid systems on basis of functional peptides and their conjugation onto polymeric/nanoporous support.


Alesia Tietze
Photo: Johan Wingborg

Contact Information

Alesia Tietze

Department of Chemistry and Molecular Biology
Kemigården 10
412 96 Göteborg

Visiting Adress:
Kemigården 4
Office Nr. 8077
412 96 Göteborg

Grants and Awards

03/2017 – 12/2018
Appointed as Technische Universität Darmstadt Athene Young Investigator

05/2016, 05/2018
2 x Positive Evaluations of the Liebig-Fellowship, Fonds der Chemischen Industrie im Verband der Chemischen Industrie e.V.

05/2014 – 09/2015
Selected participant of the ProProfessur mentoring program of the Universities in Hessen aiming at promoting young female professors

Since 06/2014
Liebig-Fellowship, Fonds der Chemischen Industrie im Verband der Chemischen Industrie e.V.

09/2013 – 05/2014
Wiedereinstiegsstipendium within the "Forschungsorientierte Gleichstellung von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Gewinnung von Professorinnen" Initiative at the TU Darmstadt

23th APS Merit Travel Award, 23th American Peptide Symposium Hawaii, USA

Poster Award, AMPERE NMR School, Wierzba, Poland

Travel grant ProChance2010 Initiative of Friedrich Schiller University Jena for participation at the AMPERE NMR School, Wierzba, Poland

Travel grant ProChance2008 Initiative of Friedrich Schiller University Jena for participation at the 30th European Peptide Symposium, Helsinki, Finland

4/2005 – 03/2006
Bilateral exchange scholarship between the Friedrich Schiller University Jena (Germany) and the Belarusian State University Minsk (Rep. Belarus)

7/2004 – 10/2004
DAAD (IAESTE) scholarship, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Energy Conversion, Mülheim a. d. Ruhr, Germany, Prof. Dr. W. Lubitz

7/2003 – 9/2003
DAAD (IAESTE) scholarship, Otto-von-Guericke-University Magdeburg, Germany, Prof. Dr. F. T. Edelmann

09/2001 – 03/2006
Government Scholarship to study Chemistry at the Belarusian State University, Minsk

Group members

Dr. Daniel Tietze – researcher

Dr. Hanna Zhdanova – PostDoc

Dr. Jie Yang – PostDoc
(AstraZeneca Collaboration)

PhD Students

Helal Abujubara
Shitanshu Devrani

Master Students

Luisa Beyer
Karan Patel
Farnaz Aliyari


Jennifer Andersson

Photo: Julia Grönros

Leadership training on 2-3th of December 2021 with Lars Rokkjær

Two days of intense professional leadership training with Lars Rokkjær (Equilibrio) for WCMTM fellows were amazing. We have learnt a lot about our personal strengths and each other’s and of course there is always the room for improvement, we never stop learning.  Warm thanks to Cristina, Fredrik, Anetta, Anders, Ka-Wei, Volkan, Bright for succeeded training, to my research group (Ann, Birsen, Daniel, Hanna, Helal, Jenn, Karan, Luisa, Shitanshu) for honesty in giving feedback and WCMTM Directors (Christina Jern and Margit Mahlapuu) for giving us an opportunity to participate.

In photo: Cristina Maglio, Fredrik Sterky, Alesia Tietze, Anetta Härtlova, Anders Ståhlberg, Ka-Wei Tang, Volkan Sayin, Bright Nwaru, Lars Rokkjær.

Key Publications

Baumruck, A. C., Tietze, D., Steinacker, L. K., Tietze A. A.*., Chemical synthesis of membrane proteins by native chemical ligation: a model study on the influenza virus B proton channel (2018), Chemical Science, 9, 2365-2375

Heimer, P., Tietze, A. A., Bäuml, C. A., Resemann, A., Mayer, F. J., Suckau, D., Ohlenschläger, O., Tietze, D.*, Imhof, D.*, Conformational µ-conotoxin PIIIA isomers revisited: The impact of cysteine pairing on disulfide bond assignment and structure elucidation (2018), Anal. Chem., 90(5), 3321-3327

Leipold, E.; Ullrich, F.; Thiele, M.; Tietze, A. A.; Terlau, H.; Imhof, D.; Heinemann, S. H., Subtype-specific block of voltage-gated K+ channels by μ-conopeptides (2017), Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun, 482 (4), 1135-1140.

Baumruck, A. C.; Tietze, D.; Stark, A.; Tietze, A. A., Reactions of Sulfur-Containing Organic Compounds and Peptides in 1-Ethyl-3-methyl-imidazolium Acetate (2017), The Journal of Organic Chemistry, 82 (14), 7538–7545

Tietze, D.#, Leipold, E.#, Heimer, P., Böhm, M., Winschel, W., Imhof, D., Heinemann, S.H., and Tietze, A.A.,* Molecular interaction of δ-conopeptide EVIA with voltage-gated Na+ channels, (2016), BBA General Subjects, 1860, 2053-2063

Tietze, A.A., Tietze, D., Ohlenschläger, O., Leipold, E., Ullrich, F., Mischo, A., Buntkowsky, G., Görlach, M., Heinemann, S. H., Imhof, D.*, The one and only fold? Structurally diverse µ-conotoxin PIIIA isomers block sodium channel NaV1.4 (2012), Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 51 (17), 4058-4061