Skip to main content

Two New Honorary Doctors


The Faculty of Education has appointed two new honorary doctors. Professor Sheila Riddell, University of Edinburgh, and Professor Stefan Hopmann, University of Vienna, have made significant contributions to the Faculty.

Sheila Riddell has made important contributions to the Faculty’s research and cooperation in the area of inclusion and special needs education. Her work has led to the development of the Platform for Research on Inclusion and School Development (PRIS).
‘She has shared her worldwide network of researchers with us, resulting in international symposiums and joint publications,’ says Eva Hjörne, professor at the Department of Education and Special Education.

Earlier in 2014, Riddell was also awarded the Swedish Research Council’s Kerstin Hesselgren Chair. The Kerstin Hesselgren Chair is a visiting professorship awarded annually to an internationally recognized female researcher in the social sciences or humanities.

Stefan Hopmann has among other things initiated a Nordic network,
NORDID, leading to Nordic seminars in the last eight years, joint Nordic postgraduate courses, and an anthology discussing Nordic general and subjectspecific didactics. His research plays an important role in the development of the research within general didactics as well as the orientation of some courses in teacher education and postgraduate programmes.

‘His support of the knowledge area and the new Nordic general-didactics journal NoAD is and will continue to be invaluable. The Nordic cooperation would never have happened without Professor Hopmann’s support and enthusiasm,’ says Silwa Claesson, professor at the Department of Pedagogical, Curricular and Professional Studies.

The new journal is published from the University of Gothenburg.

Riddell and Hopmann were formally awarded their honorary doctorates at the University’s conferment ceremony 24 October 2014.