Image of a manuscript

Topica Project

Research project
Active research
Project period
2018 - 2022
Project owner
Department of Philosophy, Linguistics and Theory of Science

Research partners
Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation

Short description

The Topica Project is led by Ana María Mora-Márquez and funded by the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation. Its aim is to propose a reading of Aristotle's account of argumentation in the Topics, and of its medieval reception (ca. 1250-ca. 1350), from a pragmatic perspective. In order to provide the material necessary for its medieval part, the project also includes the critical edition of two 13th century commentaries on the Topics – an anonymous one and that by Radulphus Brito. Gustavo Fernández Walker – our postdoctoral researcher – does the edition of the anonymous commentary, and Mora-Márquez that of the commentary by Radulphus Brito.

Events hosted by Topica Project


9 June: Workshop Medieval Science: Between Ideal and Social Practice, Paris
Co-organised with Christophe Grellard (EPHE/PSL) and Robert Pasnau (Boulder, Colorado)

28–29 June: Workshop Revisiting Medieval Dialectics 2, Paris
Co-organised by Julie Brumberg-Chaumont (CNRS, LEM/EPHE/PSL) and Gustavo Fernández Walker (Gothenburg)


30–31 August: Workshop Revisiting Medieval Dialectics,  Tours
Co-organised with Fosca Mariani Zini (CESR, Tours)

18–19 November: International Conference La philosophie de Raoul le Breton, Paris
Co-organised with Iacopo Costa (CNRS, LEM/Comissio Leonina), Laurent Cesalli (Geneva), and Sabinne Rommevaux-Tani (CNRS, SPHERE)


6–8 February: Conference: Pragmatic Argumentation in the History of Philosophy

4 October: Online Workshop for the Radulphi Britonis Opera edition group


29 August: Workshop on Topica 8, co-organised with Colin King, Jakob Fink, and Joseph Bielde at Humboldt University, Berlin

16 October: Workshop for the Radulphi Britonis Opera edition group

31 January: Workshop for the Radulphi Britonis Opera edition group

1 February: Topica Project Kick-start Workshop

3 October: Workshop for the Radulphi Britonis Opera edition group

8-9 November: Workshop: Aristotle's Topics: Non Formal Approaches to Argumentation


Radulphi Britonis Opera

This European network gathers scholars who are working on editions of one or more of the works by the late-13th century Parisian master of arts Radulphus Brito.

At the 20th Symposium of Medieval Logic and Semantics (Cambridge 2014), Laurent Cesalli, Sten Ebbesen, Costantino Marmo and Ana María Mora-Márquez took the initiative to create a network of scholars interested in editing and studying Brito’s works. After a first meeting in Bologna (October 2014), the network gained some financial stability, at least until 2021, thanks to the funding obtained by Cesalli at University of Geneva (La logique des modistes, FNS) and Mora-Márquez at University of Gothenburg (Topica project, Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, FLoV).

The editions in progress
Sten Ebbesen (Copenhagen) – See under Marmo.
Parwana Emamzadah (Geneva) – Quaestiones super Sophisticos elenchos
Gustavo Fernández Walker (Gothenburg) – Quaestiones super librum Perihermeneias
Charles Girard (Geneva) – Quaestiones super librum Sex principiorum
     With Markus Erne – Quaestiones super libros I-XII Metaphysicae
Costantino Marmo (Bologna) – Quaestiones super librum Praedicamentorum
     With Sten Ebbesen (Copenhagen) – Quaestiones super librum De divisione
Ana María Mora-Márquez (Gothenburg) – Quaestiones super librum Topicorum
Sabine Rommevaux-Tani (CNRS, Paris) and Aurélien Robert (CNRS) – Quaestiones super parva mathematicalia
Aurora Panzica (University of Freiburg) – Quaestiones in Meteora

Finished editions
Iacopo Costa (CNRS) – Quaestiones super Ethicam (redactio secunda)
     With Marta Borgo (Leonina, Paris) – Quaestiones super librum De causis
Sten Ebbesen (Copenhagen) – Quaestiones De memoria et reminiscentia (in Parva naturalia)

Other members
Fabrizio Amerini (Parma)
Julie Brumberg-Chaumont (CNRS, Paris)
Dino Buzzetti (Bologna)
Silvia Donati (Albertus-Magnus-Institut, Bonn)
Leone Gazziero (CNRS, Lille)
Frédéric Goubier (Geneva)
Cesare Musatti (Sapienza, Rome)
Irène Rosier-Catach (CNRS, Paris)
Andrea Tabarroni (Udine)

About us

Principal investigator:
Ana María Mora-Márquez

Parwana Emamzadah
Gustavo Fernández Walker
Zoe McConaughey

Administrator: Andreas Ott


Advisory Board

  • Iacopo Costa (CNRS, Paris/Poitiers)
  • Michel Crubellier (University of Lille)
  • Catarina Dutilh Novaes (University of Groningen)
  • Christophe Grellard (EPHE, Paris)


  • Colin King (Providence College, US)
  • Iacopo Costa (CNRS)
  • Barbara Bartocci (University of Helsinki)
  • Katerina Ierodiakonou (University of Geneva)

Former research partners: