University of Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra at Annedalskyrkan
Photo: Natalie Greppi

Orchestra concert: Britten, Mozart, Prokofiev

Culture and languages

University of Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra under the direction of conductor Christian Karlsen.

11 Feb 2022
18:00 - 20:00
Entrance: 150/100 kr

Good to know
All ticket purchases are made online via the Billetto ticketing service. No ticket sales on site.
Academy of Music and Drama


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 41, Jupiter
  • Sergei Prokofiev: Symphony No. 5
  • Cancelled: Benjamin Britten: Four Sea Interludes 

Benjamin Britten (1913–1976) was a British composer, pianist and conductor. His Four Sea Interludes are taken from the opera Peter Grimes, where they serve as a guide for the listener, leading them from one geographical place to the next, while also reflecting the inner landscapes of the characters in the small fishing community on the east coast of England. The pieces are named in turn: Dawn, Sunday Morning, Moonlight and Storm.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts (1756–1791) Symphony No. 41 is often called the Jupiter Symphony. It is both the longest and the final of Mozart's symphonies, and is considered by many critics to be one of the foremost works in its genre. After the moderately successful Don Giovanni, Mozart was anxious to get new works out and thus secure the household coffers. In the summer of 1788 he therefore composed both this and two other symphonies, with a concert series at one of Vienna's casinos in mind. Whether they were actually played during his lifetime is unknown, however.

More information:

About events at the Academy of Music and Drama