Skip to main content
Breadcrumb

Biomolecular NMR: Advanced Tools

Research
Science and Information Technology

An advanced hands-on PhD online course (3 ECTS) for PhD students and researchers with projects involving molecular characterization with NMR.

Course
Date
5 Oct 2020 - 16 Oct 2020
Location
Online via Zoom and NMRbox
Cost
Free

The course involves 8-10 half-days of in-class distance lectures, practical hands-on exercises, discussions, and individual work with the tools presented in the course.

Dates, Venue and Program 

5-16 Oct. 2020; using Web, Zoom and NMRbox (details will be announced later) 

Teachers

Björn Burmann, University of Gothenburg

Julie Forman-Kay, Hospital for Sick Children and the University of Toronto

D. Flemming Hansen, University College London

Jeffrey Hoch, University of Connecticut Health

Ilya Kuprov, University of Southampton

Guido Pintacuda, Université de Lyon

Xiabo Qu, Xiamen University

Maxim Mayzel, Bruker BioSpin

Adam Schuyler, University of Connecticut Health

James Tolchard, PDB EMBL-EBI

Geerten Vuister, University of Leicester

Krzysztof Kazimierczuk, Centre of New Technologies, University of Warsaw

B. Göran Karlsson, Swedish NMR Centre

Vladislav Orekhov, Swedish NMR Centre

Contacts              

Vladislav Orekhov, Martin Billeter, Göran Karlsson; Chemistry and Molecular Biology, Swedish NMR Centre, University of Gothenburg, Sweden; Jeffrey Hoch, Adam Schuyler; Molecular Biology and Biophysics, UConn Health, CT, USA

E-mail: bionmr2020@gmail.com

Registration

Registration for NMRbox (only for the students registered for the tutorial hands on sessions)

Since this course will use NMRbox for the tutorial sessions, you must also register with NMRbox. Please complete the steps described at https://nmrbox.org/pages/gothenburg-2020

Information         

will be posted at https://www.gu.se/en/event/biomolecular-nmr-advanced-tools

Course Certificates and ECTS credit points         

In order to fully accomplish the course, the students should attend all tutorial lection and practical sessions. For every tutorial session a short report should be submitted as outlined by the session instructors. After acceptance of the lab reports by the instructors, the course certificate can be requested by e-mail to bionmr2020@gmail.com .

Program

Tutorial lectures   

40 min including questions

7 am PST (San Francisco) / 10 am EST (New York) / 4 pm CEST (Berlin) / 7.30 pm IST (India) / 10 pm CST (Peking)
 
5   Mon   Göran Karlsson, University of Gothenburg, Sweden. 
Three is the new five  — on probe sensitivity
6   Tue    Jeffrey Hoch, UConn Health, CT, USA. 
Overview on Non-Fourier Methods of Spectrum Analysis
7   Wed   Ilya Kuprov, University of Southampton, UK. 
What exactly is spin?
8   Thu     Björn Burmann, University of Gothenburg, Sweden,  
In cell/in-situ NMR
9   Fri      Round table, moderators: Martin Billeter, Jeffrey Hoch,
12 Mon   Julie Forman-Kay, Hospital for Sick Children and University of Toronto, Canada. 
A disordered protein perspective with NMR insights.
13 Tue    Guido Pintacuda, Université de Lyon, France. 
Fast MAS
14 Wed   Xiaobo Qu, Xiamen University,  China. 
NMR Signal Processing with Low Rank and Deep Learning.
15  Thu   D. Flemming Hansen,  UCL, London, UK. 
Deep Learning in NMR.
16  Fri     Round table, moderators:, Göran Karlsson, Vladislav Orekhov

 

Hands on sessions  

Tutorial hands on sessions: 3 hours questions, two time slots to choose from.

Start: 8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 5 pm CEST /   8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST
Start: 0 am PDT /   3 am EDT / 9 am CEST / 12.30 am IST /   3 pm CST
 
5 Mon   Adam Schuyler, UConn Health, CT, USA. 
NMRbox tools and Introduction to Nonuniform Sampling 
Start: 8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 5 pm CEST /   8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST
or
[1]NMRbox tools
6 am PDT /   9 am EDT / 15 am CEST / 18.30 am IST /   9 pm CST

 

6 Tue   Vladislav Orekhov, University of Gothenburg, Sweden, 
Krzysztof Kazimierczuk, Centre of New Technologies, University of Warsaw, Poland
Daily NUS 
Start: 0 am PDT /   3 am EDT / 9 am CEST / 12.30 am IST /   3 pm CST 
Start: 8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 5 pm CEST /   8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST

 

7 Wed   Maxim Mayzel, Bruker Biospin, Switzerland. 
New Topspin experiments and tools 
Start: 0 am PDT /   3 am EDT / 9 am CEST / 12.30 am IST /   3 pm CST 
Start: 8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 5 pm CEST /   8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST

 

8 Thu   Ilya Kuprov, University of Southampton, UK. 
Simulations of spin dynamics
Start: 0 am PDT /   3 am EDT / 9 am CEST / 12.30 am IST /   3 pm CST 
Start: 8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 5 pm CEST /   8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST

 

9 Fri   Reports clean up for the 1st week (one hour session for questions via zoom chat rooms)

8 am PST / 11 am EST / 5 pm CEST / 8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST

 

12 Mon   James Tolchard, PDB EMBL-EBI, UK. 
PDB tools.
Start: 0 am PDT /   3 am EDT / 9 am CEST / 12.30 am IST /   3 pm CST 
Start: 8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 5 pm CEST /   8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST

 

13 Tue   Geerten Vuister, University of Leicester, UK. 
CCPN
Start: 0 am PDT /   3 am EDT / 9 am CEST / 12.30 am IST /   3 pm CST 
Start: 8 am PDT / 11 am EDT / 5 pm CEST /   8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST

 

14 Wed     Reports clean up for the 2nd week (one hour session for questions via zoom chat rooms)
8 am PST / 11 am EST / 5 pm CEST / 8.30 pm IST / 11 pm CST

 

[1] If you cannot attend the first session listed above, please view the Introduction to NMRbox talk (https://nmrbox.org/pages/workshop-2020-06-16) from the NMRbox Summer Workshop Series and attend the second session, which is only one-hour and will serve as a “help desk” to make sure you are prepared to use the NMRbox platform for the remainder of the course.