Skip to main content

Pam Fredman member of national innovation council


Vice-Chancellor Pam Fredman has been appointed member of the Swedish government’s new innovation council, which held its first meeting on February the at Harpsund under the leadership of Prime Minister Stefan Löfven.

‘I’m looking forward to being part of a dialogue on innovation and the many aspects of putting ideas and knowledge to practical use. I think the council’s great breadth in terms of experience, competence and age will lead to the formulation of many new and creative ideas,’ says Pam Fredman.

The innovation council will serve as an advisory body with an aim to strengthen the entire innovation chain, from idea to market through continuous cooperation and dialogue between politics, business and industry, academia and the trade union movement. At its first meeting, the council will talk about the government provision of venture capital. Other issues that will be addressed in the near future are innovation procurement, the field of life science and how society can take advantage of the opportunities presented by climate change.

The innovation council consists of the following members:
Ola Asplund, Mengmeng Du, Charles Edquist, Pam Fredman, Darja Isaksson, Johan Rockström, Karl-Henrik Sundström, Jane Walerud, Hans Vestberg and Carola Öberg. It also includes Swedish ministers Magdalena Andersson, Mikael Damberg, Helene Hellmark Knutsson and Åsa Romson. Prime Minister Stefan Lövfen is chairing the council.